Sunday, February 6, 2011

2011 Preseason Predictions

Division Winners and Wild Cards

ALE: Red Sox
ALC: Twins
ALW: Angels
ALWC: Yankees

NLE: Phillies
NLC: St. Louis
NLW: Col

Playoff Matchups

ALCS: Red Sox vs Twins
NLCS: Phillies vs St. Louis

WS: Red Sox over Phillies

Postseason Awards & Honors

AL MVP: A Gonzalez
NL MVP: Pujols
AL Cy: Jon Lester
NL Cy: Lincecum

AL HR: Dunn
NL HR: Pujols

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

MLB 2010 Awards

Here are my Major League Baseball 2010 Awards for Manager of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Relief Pitcher of the Year, Cy Young Award, and MVP for the AL and NL. The voting structure is used in conjunction with that of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance.

Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year)

1. Terry Francona
2. Joe Maddon
3. Ron Washington

1. Bud Black
2. Bobby Cox
3. Dusty Baker

Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year)

1. Neftali Feliz
2. Austin Jackson
3. Brennan Boesch

1. Buster Posey
2. Jason Heyward
3. Mike Stanton

Goose Gossage Award (Reliever of the Year)

1. Rafeal Soriano
2. Joakim Soria
3. Neftali Feliz

1. Brian Wilson
2. Heath Bell
3. Billy Wagner

Walter Johnson Award (Cy Young)

1. Felix Hernandez
2. CC Sabathia
3. David Price
4. Jered Weaver
5. Justin Verlander

1. Roy Halladay
2. Adam Wainwright
3. Ubaldo Jiminez
4. Tim Hudson
5. Mat Latos

Stan Musial Award (MVP)

1. Josh Hamilton
2. Miguel Cabrera
3. Robinson Cano
4. Paul Konerko
5. Jose Bautista
6. Adrian Beltre
7. CC Sabathia
8. David Price
9. Rafeal Soriano
10. David Ortiz

1. Joey Votto
2. Albert Pujols
3. Roy Halladay
4. Carlos Gonzalez
5. Jayson Werth
6. Adrian Gonzalez
7. Mat Latos
8. Troy Tulowitski
9. Brian Wilson
10. Tim Hudson

MLB 2010 Cy Young Awards

AL Cy Young Award

Winner: Felix Hernandez

Reason: 1st in IP, 2nd in K, 2nd in WHIP, 1st in ERA

Felix had 35 more K’s than Sabathia, and 44 more than Price. His WHIP was .13 lower than both Sabathia and Price, and his ERA was 2.27 compared to 2.72 for Price and 3.18 for Sabathia. So I think that all of these outweigh him having 8 less wins than Sabathia and 6 less wins than Price.

NL Cy Young Award

Winner: Roy Halladay
Reason: 1st in Wins, 1st in IP. 2nd in K, 3rd in ERA, 2nd in WHIP

Slightly beats out Adam Wainwright. Halladay had 1 more win, 6 more K’s, 20 more innings, and a WHIP that was .01 better. Halladay’s ERA was .02 points worse than Wainwrights. Plus Halladay’s team is in the playoffs.

Monday, October 4, 2010

2010 MVP Awards


Winner: Josh Hamilton

Runner Up: Miguel Cabrera

Reason: 1st in Batting Average by .031 points, 1st in SLG, 2nd in OBP, 1st in OPS. Played 17 less games than Cabrera and only had 16 less runs, 5 less doubles, 6 less home runs, and 26 less RBI, and had 6 more hits. Plus his team made the playoffs.


Winner: Joey Votto

Runner Up: Albert Pujols

Reason: 2nd in Batting Average, 1st on OBP, 1st in SLG, 1st in OPS. Votto only had 9 less runs, 6 less hits, 5 less HR, 5 less RBI than Pujols in 9 less games. Plus his team made the playoffs.